Masters Champions League Coming For Cricket Lovers

We all enjoy Indian Premium League with cricket professionals from Indian and around the world. And we just saw Sachin Tendulkar’s Cricket All Stars League 2015, held in the US. That created quite a buzz around the US and eventually across the globe, right?

Now to surprise everyone Masters Champions League (MCL) is here and its inaugural auction, held in Dubai on Monday. In that former South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis was lucky to get the highest bid of  US $175,000. The 2nd most expensive player was Adam Gilchrist with $170,000 to his kitty.

Six icon players were listed for the auction and they got a base price of $100,000. Here’s the list,

  • Jacques Kallis
  • Adam Gilchrist
  • Muttiah Muralitharan
  • Brian Lara
  • Paul Collingwood
  • Brett Lee

And from a list of 12 players each team was assigned two marquee players. It included eight former international captains. Here’s the list,

  • Abdul Razzaq and Michael Vaughan(Capricorn Commanders)
  • Scott Styris and Heath Streak (Leo Lions)
  • Sourav Ganguly and Graeme Swann (Libra Legends)
  • Virender Sehwag and Kumar Sangakkara (Gemini Arabians)
  • Mahela Jayawardene and Daniel Vettori (Sagittarius Soldiers)
  • Graeme Smith and Azhar Mahmood (Virgo Super Kings)

Here’s the list of team and its members. Watch out for your favourite legend. It is expected to start in January, 2016

Capricorn Commanders

Michael Vaughan, Abdul Razzaq, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Symonds, Chamara Silva, Ashwell Prince, Upul Chandana, Ryan McLaren, Jeetan Patel, Rikki Clarke, Rory Kleinveldt, Ben Laughlin, Rizwan Cheema, Geraint Jones, Sunil Joshi, Saleem Elahi.

Gemini Arabians

Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kyle Mills, Saqlain Mushtaq, Jacques Rudolph, Naved-ul-Hasan, Justin Kemp, Paul Harris, Brad Hodge, Richard Levi, Ashish Bagai, Graham Onions, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Saqib Ali.

Libra Legends

Sourav Ganguly, Graeme Swann, Jacques Kallis, Brad Hogg, Ryan ten Doeschate, Ajay Ratra, Chris Read, Sean Ervine, Shaun Tait, Ryan Sidebottom, Michael Lumb, Marcus North, Taufeeq Umar, Nicky Boje, Ian Butler.

Leo Lions

Heath Streak, Scott Styris, Brian Lara, Herschelle Gibbs, Brendan Taylor, James Franklin, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Fidel Edwards, Mohammad Tauqir, Neil Carter, Hamish Marshall, Kyle Jarvis, Ramesh Powar, Simon Jones, Darren Gough.

Sagittarius Soldiers

Mahela Jayawardene, Daniel Vettori, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Bond, Khurram Khan, Phil Mustard, Tino Best, Nathan Hauritz, Alviro Petersen, Michael Carberry, Krishmar Santokie, Jonathan Trott, Yasir Hameed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Gavin Hamilton.

Virgo Super Kings

Graeme Smith, Azhar Mahmood, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Neil McKenzie, John Mooney, Dirk Nannes, Owais Shah, James Foster, Murali Kartik, Malinga Bandara, Gareth Batty, Hasan Raza, Jacob Oram, Humayun Farhat, Mohammad Yousuf.

For more information, visit the official MCL website and here’s the tweet from the official Masters Champions League Twitter account (@MCL2020UAE).

Featured Image Source: Screenshot from (official masters champions league) website.

GW Editorial Staff

Editorial Staff at Generic Whiz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *